Seminar For A Day “Transcendentalism Comes West,” Rev. John Buehrens

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 01/28/2023
9:30 am - 5:30 pm

Categories No Categories


TO:  UU Congregations, Fellowships and Churches

Your members and friends are cordially invited to join us virtually for Seminary for a Day on Saturday, January 28, at First Unitarian Portland. This year’s spiritual theme is Transcendentalism.

Our keynote speaker is Rev. John Buehrens. Rev. Buehrens served as UUA President, 1993-2001. A prolific author, his most recent one about our heritage is CONFLAGRATION: How the Transcendentalists Sparked the American Struggle for Racial, Gender, and Social Justice (Beacon, 2020).

Rev. Buehrens will offer a keynote on the first Unitarian Transcendentalist on the Pacific Coast, the Rev. Thomas Starr King. He exemplified key spiritual practices of the Transcendentalists that need renewal among us today: personal reflection (often in the form of keeping a journal), and deep interpersonal connections crossing conventional boundaries.

In addition, Rev. Buehrens will offer a workshop entitled, “God Optional: Theologies Among Us Today.” John Buehrens and Rebecca Ann Parker surveyed the hope-filled thought patterns in progressive religion today in their book, A House for Hope: The Promise of Progressive Religion in the 21st Century (Beacon, 2010). While their framework borrows from a heritage of Judeo-Christian systematic theology, it also makes room for humanist, indigenous, and non-Western a/theologies. All such thinking, however, needs to meet some overriding and important tests to be effective. Tests which will be revealed in the workshop.

Details: Saturday, January 28, 2023

9:30 a.m.   –  2:35 p.m. Pacific Standard Time
10:30 a.m. – 3:35 p.m. Mountain Standard Time
11:30 a.m. – 4:35 p.m. Central Standard Time
12:30 p.m. – 5:35 p.m. Eastern Standard Time

Registration is open until 4:00 p.m. Pacific Standard Time on Sunday, January 22nd. You will receive a link to join via email on January 23rd.

https://www.firstunitarianportland.org/events/sfad23/

=> ALL ARE WELCOME!  So please do share this event with your congregation in all the ways you use to communicate … E-newsletter, Sunday bulletin,  pulpit announcements, social media accounts, flyer, and word of mouth.  

Below are the event links for Facebook and Instagram:
Facebook: https://fb.me/e/3aga8EBP0