Doing the Inner Work of Racial Justice Seminar

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 01/29/2022
12:30 pm - 3:00 pm

Categories


You are are cordially invited to join us for our VIRTUAL Seminary for a Day on Saturday, January 29, at First Unitarian Portland. This year’s spiritual theme is entitled, Doing the Inner Work of Racial Justice.

Our keynote speaker is Rev. Abhi Janamanchi who serves as the Senior Minister of the Cedar Lane Unitarian Universalist Church in Bethesda, Maryland.  He describes himself as a Hindu-Unitarian Universalist and says that his Unitarian Universalism makes him a better Hindu.

If you are engaged in the work of racial justice and long for spiritual connection in this work, join us for this year’s virtual Seminary For A Day.

This is an opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of how racism has shaped our UU faith and our congregations; how structural racism still operates today, often unnoticed; and what is involved in cultivating Beloved Community and working against racism and oppression in all of its forms.

We will practice mindfulness meditation, conversation, and experiential exercises that get to the heart of healing internalized racism and being anti-racist.  We will seek to create brave space, engage in courageous conversations on what is healing and what is harming racial justice, and rest in restorative meditation and embodied practices.

Details: Saturday, January 29, 2022

9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Pacific Standard Time

10:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. Mountain Standard Time

11:30 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. Central Standard Time

12:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time

Registration is open until 11:00 a.m. Pacific Standard Time on Friday, January 28th. You will receive a Zoom link via email before the event.

https://www.firstunitarianportland.org/events/seminaryforaday22/

=> ALL ARE WELCOME!  So please do share this event with your congregation in all the ways you use to communicate … E-newsletter, Sunday bulletin,  pulpit announcements, social media accounts, and word of mouth.  

Below are the event links for Facebook and Instagram:

Facebook: https://fb.me/e/1ad0GM80I

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/p/CYW8LB6PktT/

If you have any questions or would like any additional descriptions please contact Kerry, kheintze@firstunitarianportland.org